top of page
Amanda Hansen

Top 10 Tips for College Musical Theatre Auditions

So you want to go to school for musical theatre...


In 2017, I auditioned for musical theatre BFA programs across the country. I went to individual auditions in Sacramento, scheduled Unifieds in Los Angeles, and then scheduled and walk-in auditions in New York (both at Unifieds and NYU). I was the first person at my high school to pursue a theatre degree so I had no idea what to expect. Additionally, I had only done one audition with a pianist and sheet music in my life. So, I felt really under prepared for the experience. So these are my top 10 pieces of advice for students auditioning for College Musical Theatre Programs. (And honestly, most of these can transfer to any audition you may go to)




1. Bring a Bluetooth Speaker!

  • This is the biggest thing I wish I knew before auditions. At big auditions (like Unifieds), not every school had a pianist. I and other students did not know this. One girl walked around Pearl Studios until she found a cup she could use to amplify her music but that only did a little to help. I think I auditioned for more schools without a pianist than with one. ALSO, try and get piano recordings of your individual cuts on your phone so you are not using youtube karaoke links like I did and getting ads pop up while you are trying to get into character. (yes, that happened). Do remember to write your name on the speaker though!

2. TAKE TIME TO REALLY LOOK AT THE AUDITION PROCESSES FOR EACH SCHOOL

  • Does the school require pre-screens? How many and when do they need to be submitted? Any essays? Recommendations? In-person or online interviews? Can you audition online or do you need to do both? Some musical theatre programs require a dance audition while others do not.

  • Sign Up for in-person auditions as soon as possible! Most will fill up fast! I was late to sign up for one audition and missed out. I even went to that school at Unifieds to see if I could do a walk-in audition and they could not see me.

  • Every school has different requirements, I missed out on auditioning for certain schools because I did not understand the concept of prescreens at the time. When I did, the deadline had already passed. I suggest looking at each school and writing out each step. Never feel shy about emailing the school if you have any questions, but make sure you read through everything first! They do want to help you!

  • Also, after you return home from auditions, make sure you go back and finish any applications for schools that you might have done a walk-in audition for. And check your email regularly!

3. Speaking of requirements, make sure you also take the time to look at what material each school wants to see.

  • How many monologues? How many songs? Do they want different genres? What cuts are they asking for?

  • The night before my audition for one school, I was re-reading everything and realized one of my monologues was not the correct genre. So, I scrambled to try and find a new monologue then memorize it. I definitely messed it up during the audition.

  • For monologues: I would recommend having at least 2 contemporary (anything after the 1950’s) and 2 classical (at least one of them being Shakespeare) monologues in your back pocket. That should cover all of the bases that schools will as for and also guarantee that you are prepared in case they would like to see additional material. I ended up needing two contemporary and one classical.

  • For songs: I would recommend 1 song that is your GO-TO (either contemporary or classical) and then have a second song that is the opposite. For example, if your go-to is a contemporary ballad, I would have a golden age uptempo as a second song, or at least a golden age song. I would also have 2 or 3 additional songs that you love in your book just in case they want something else. I would have 32 and 16 bar cuts prepared for each. But again, look at the requirements!

4. SING WHAT YOU LOVE AND SHOW WHO YOU ARE!

  • Yes, you want to stay away from songs that might be overdone (Wicked, Les Mis, current Broadway shows etc.) but if one of those songs makes you feel confident, and shows off your personality and skills, I say go for it. I personally sang “Everything I Know” from In The Heights and “Mister Snow” from Carousel. Both of those songs can be done often, but they showed off who I was and showed the variety of skills that I wanted to show. I never felt scared to sing them or nervous that I was going to miss a note. That is how you should feel.

  • Unless a school says, “please don’t sing this song” you are able to sing it, just be aware that you need to make it your own.

  • They can tell if you hate the song you are singing, so sing what what you love.

5. Talk to the students!

  • I noticed at many of the Unified auditions, the auditions were being assisted by students at the school. Talk to them, friend them on Facebook/ Instagram, ask them about the program. They might be able to guide you in your final decision.

  • Also, talk to the other students auditioning! I still message some people who I met at auditions 4 years ago. Theatre is a community!

  • You can learn something from everyone you meet.

6. Have some questions prepared in case they ask

  • Some schools require an interview, others might just ask if you have any questions. So, try and figure out what you want in a school, and see if they can answer any questions. (The students might be able to help you come up with a question.)

  • Some questions could be, How many performance opportunities are available for students? Am I able to pursue outside work while in your program? What dance and private voice training is available to me? How does your program help students who are dealing with mental illnesses?

7. Bring something to sit on!

  • Most of the day, you will be sitting on hard surfaces, so bring something to sit on.

    • It can be a little folding chair like this

  • a pillow/ chair cushion.

  • I personally recently got a zuca bag and I wish I had one of these years ago. (https://www.zuca.com/school-and-sport) You can put your book, shoes, and snacks in it and use it as a chair!. They retail for about $200 but you can look on resale apps like Poshmark, Mercari and OfferUp and find one for cheaper. (I got mine Brand New for about $80 after shipping on Mercari). You can also get a seat cover for them to make the chair a little more comfortable.

    • (No, I am not sponsored by ZUCA but I would love to be lol)



8. Bring a water bottle and snacks!

  • It is a long day so you will get hungry and tired! Make sure you are taking care of yourself!

  • I saw a great tip from Kristina Dizon (@kristinamjdizon on Tiktok) that you can use a water bottle with a straw to quietly warm up!

9. Clothes!

  • Show off your personality through your clothes! You do not need to wear a plain black dress as I did. Make yourself stand out!

  • Be comfortable, your new heels may be adorable, but will you be able to walk in them for several hours and be able to sing and act in them comfortably. I always find a block heel to be much more comfortable. Try to save your character heels for any dance auditions.

  • PRACTICE IN YOUR SHOES! You will feel so much better in the space.

  • You don’t have to wear a dress if you do not want to. My new favorite audition outfit is a jumpsuit! Wearing a nice shirt and pants or a skirt is also a great choice.

  • Stay away from super busy patterns, and elements that might distract from your audition. Same thing with jewelry and accessories. A hat might block your eyesight and a necklace or large earrings might swing around and create extra noise. Again, you want them to focus on your material, not distracted by elements in your outfit.

  • Make sure your hair is out of your face! Girls and Guys!!!

10. Have Fun!


  • It sounds cliche but it is true. I still look back on my audition experience with so much joy because I had fun. It was very new but I learned so much and fell even more in love with the theatre. I met many amazing people and got to listen to people sing. I got to sing and act and I had fun. You might not get into every school you audition for and THAT IS OKAY! At one audition, I was told that my scores were great but they only took 5 girls out of the thousands who were auditioning. You will find the school that is right for you!







I hope you found these to be helpful! Please feel free to email me if you have any other questions! And please subscribe for more content!


Love,

Amanda Zaida Hansen

41 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Commentaires


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page